“The only thing that counts is faith expressing itself in love.” Galatians 5:6

By Sarah Hunnicutt

This is the third time I’ve written this. I wanted so badly to capture the experience for each of you to read about; to speak of the effects just one week of service had on the entire team and the people we met. But I can’t. I realize now that I can only share with you what happened in my heart, my mind, and my life. This trip was deeply personal for me. I am grateful to know that I serve a God who is deeply personal, too.

I think if I had to pick one moment that defined the entire trip it would be the last night of English classes. It was hot. Communicating wasn’t easy, but people were flexible. “Hello, my name is. . .  This is my new friend . . . She is single.” After about an hour of vocabulary review, conversation, and introductions, it was wrap-up time. But one-by-one, over half the students in the class stood up:

“Miss Deborah, you are so patient.”

“For the first time, I am understanding English.”

“You love us so much.”

“We love you so much.”

“I thank God for sending you to us.”

It was moving. It was a reminder of what “faith expressing itself through love” truly looks like. Love in action is sharing the gifts God has given you freely with those He has placed around you, with those He has called you to love. Faith in action is living unselfishly in the service of others for the purpose of glorifying Him. Jesus Christ was the ultimate example of this – dirtying His feet, face, hands, and heart as He walked among hurting, broken, dying people. He walked to me, stretched out His hand, and worked a miracle in my heart. And now He calls me – us – to do the same. How humbling it was to see a practical example of this in the life of my mother.

As much as I want to express to you the great feeling of accomplishment that came from completing our planned projects; as much as I want you to enjoy the pictures and the fun stories of the mishaps that took place before, during, and after the trip, I want infinitely more for you to grasp this: we serve a God who sees. He sees the people on Roatan – Leander, Jimmy, Anna, Yolanda, Doris – and He sees us. He sees our hurt. He sees our potential. He sees our greatest need – to know and experience His Love.  What a mind-blowing miracle to experience His love. What a privilege to be a part of sharing His love with others. What a blessing to be reminded of this during that one short week in Roatan.

(And in case you were wondering, here are the basics of what we tangibly accomplished: 4 high-energy days of Vacation Bible School in the Sandy Bay car wash community; 4 fun afternoons at the girls’ home; 2 amazing English classes; 1 fantastic-looking storage space for sports equipment.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About deborahhunnicutt

Taking a crazy journey that God has led me on to Roatan, Honduras. Donations to this ministry can be made at: Teaching in the Son 17 E Hurd, Ste. 200 Edmond, OK 73034 USA
This entry was posted in The journey begins. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

